PSP-travaganza

I haven’t updated in a few days due to some last minute Gamespite Quartly articles Parish needed done.  With these last two articles a full 15% of the next issue is my writing. I’m proud of that. This next issue is a little unconventional but is going to way super neato cool times. I recommend you buy five copies.

I also offered to do some illustrations for Octo Prime’s Magic of Scheherazade Let’s Play. That’s been eating up some time as well. I haven’t had the time to play any more IFComp games and judging ends on the 15th. I hope I can squeeze in the last seven or so entries before then.

I have been able to sneak in a little time with my PSP though. Wee! Crap times with a crap system!

Size Matters:

Once the joy of playing Ratchet and Clank on a handheld wore off I realized that Size Matters was just as I remembered: kinda horrible! The main issue has to do with the controls. There’s just no good way to play the game and after a short while playing my hands started cramping up bad, something that hasn’t really occurred with any other PSP game I’ve played. And wrestling with the camera along with the poor controls leads to no fun times.

The breaking point came on the farming moon of  Dayni. Here you have to dodge a spaceship as it chases after you in a cornfield, then the rocks it rains down on you, then fight it proper. The cornfield chase isn’t very difficult but is quite lengthy. Unfortunately the boss fight is quite tough. First, because there’s no weapons that work well on it. Second, what would normally be an easy fight becomes a cheap and frustrating experience thanks to the controls. I ended up dieing three times against this spaceship, and not once did I feel like the defeat was due to anything but a cheap hit. Worse, dieing takes you all the way back before the tedious corn chase. After the third loss I gave up on the game. I guess I could grind for bolts and buy the Rocket Launcher. It might be the best weapon for the ship, but I’m not having enough fun to bother. Size Matters, I appreciate what you’re trying to do, but your terrible controls and awful camera ruin the normally spectacular Ratchet and Clank experience.

Oddworld: Abe’s Exoddus:

 New on PSN are the two PSX Oddworld games. I’m a huge fan of the series but for reasons closely related to the fact that I’m a stupid moron I sold off my copy of Exoddus years ago. I jumped at the chance to play it again and it holds up really well. The prerendered graphics  look great on the PSP, even if they are just a tad dark.

But then, near the end of the Slig Barracks, the game froze and I hadn’t saved since the start of disk 2. Two hours of hard work–and believe me making progress in Oddworld is work–and about 40 slaves rescued all went down the drain. Normally a setback like this just kills any enthusiasm I had for a playthrough. But this time I feel compelled to try again. Something about Oddworld’s platforming puzzle weirdness stimulates the joy center in my brain. As sucky as this setback is I can’t wait to get back into the fray and possess some sligs. But really, did you have to freeze up, PSP? Now I won’t be able to play without the constant fear of a game ending bug. *sigh*

The moral of the story? The PSP turns great series into crap. Hooray!

2 Comments

Filed under Games

2 responses to “PSP-travaganza

  1. cookingcampus

    That’s why I only really use it to play old Nintendo games… Works great as that!

  2. OctoPrime

    If it makes you feel any better, those illustrations are the best part of that LP, as it’s otherwise a pile of dumb sucky-crap.

Leave a Reply

