Series Impressions

Three days, nine games, and many beers later we’ve reached our goal of playing all the 8-bit (and 8-bit seeming) Mega Man games. We figured that with our fresh perspective we’d rank the games from worst to best and give the final authoritative word on Mega Man.

Okay, BZ, out of all the games we played in the last three days, what was the worst?

BZ: 1.

Loki: Why’s that?

BZ: It’s bland. Granted it was the start of the series but there’s no real interesting level design is going on. The disappearing blocks might be the craziest thing in the game. The graphics have the least character and the physics are a little janky. It doesn’t hold up to the rest of the series.

Next 7. But… is it really the worst? Is it that bad?

Loki: Yes. Like you said yesterday, it’s hard to pin down why exactly it’s so boring but that doesn’t change the fact that it’s boring. Aside from Spring Man’s stage and the fun of finding the secrets, the game is a snore fest.

BZ: This is blasphemy but I think 3 is next. I always thought 3 was one of the standard bearers for the series — and prior to this weekend I would have ranked it as one of my favorites — but it doesn’t hold up. The boss order makes less sense than usual and the two loops in the order is bullshit. The graphics is kinda shitty. Well, not the graphics, more the art direction. All those weird colors and so on. And I know you like Magnet Man’s theme but I don’t like the music that much.

Loki: What about Doc Robot and the Wily levels?

BZ: I think it’s an interesting gimmick to revisit the old levels but a lot of the time I feel they aren’t introducing new ideas and rather are just panning out the length. As for Doc Robot it’s cool at first to see the old MM2 bosses but after seeing all the old bosses from throughout the series show up in 10, well… I donno. It’s like if only the bosses from 9 returned in ten.

Loki: I don’t know if I can agree with you here. In all good conscious could I put 3 before 4.

BZ: 4’s next. I like it more than I remember liking it. It’s got interesting ideas and the graphics are really really nice.

Loki: I liked it more than I remembered too. It’s still not one of my favorite Mega Mans but I don’t despise it as I used to.

I think 6 falls next. It’s a fun game. Has good design. It would probably rank higher if not for those ugly ugly candy graphics.

What do you think? 5 or 2 next?

BZ: I don’t know.

Loki: I’ve got to give props to 2 for all the stuff it introduced to the series. It really created the Mega Man formula and it did it with aplomb.

BZ: I used to really love 5 but I do agree with you. 5 has some good parts but it has some boring parts too. Despite only a couple of 2’s weapons being useful it is a great game.

Loki I think we’re agreed on the last two. 10 is one of the better games in the series and despite first impressions is really good.

BZ: But it doesn’t hold a candle to 9. 9 is so good in all areas. It’s a shame that 10 didn’t live up to it’s legacy.

Loki: That’s the Mega Man way.

So, after playing through all the games, looking at them objectively, and trying to remove all nostalgia, the ranking of classic Mega Man is (from worst to best):

Mega Man 1

Mega Man 7

Mega Man 3/4

Mega Man 6

Mega Man 5

Mega Man 2

Mega Man 10

Mega Man 9

And 8 is in there somewhere. Good night everybody!

Leave a comment

Filed under Games

Leave a Reply

