IF Comp ‘ 10: The Scores

Who knew a baby would be such a time sink? I was only able to get to a handful of games this year, and only one of them made it into the top ten. Ouch. I’m disappointed to see that Gigantomania ranked so low. Granted, I didn’t get a chance to compare it to the high scorers. Maybe they were just that good. Despite its rough edges, Giganto was a tight, interesting little game. I can’t but help feeling like it got the short shrift.

Anyway, this is how I ended up scoring the few games I did play.

Gigantomania – 8

Heated – 5

East Grove Hills – 3

A Quite Evening at Home – 2

Sons of the Cherry – 3

Ninja’s Fate – 4

The Warbler’s Nest – 7

Man, was that it? I fail at Comp judging forever. Hopefully next year, when my son is all grown and moved out, I’ll be able to give the Comp the time it deserves.  Blegh.

Meanwhile, people are starting to receive their copies of Gamespite Quarterly 6. I hear there’s a slight printing error on the cover of the paperback version. Hopefully, that will be fixed soon. Otherwise, it looks great. This cover was a blast to do. Real different from the crap I usually put out. For once I’m proud of something I drew.

 

The issue is on sale here: http://www.blurb.com/bookstore/detail/1707547 It’s not to be missed.

2 Comments

Filed under Games

2 responses to “IF Comp ‘ 10: The Scores

  1. Mike

    I very much enjoyed your artwork… there doesn’t happen to be a key as to which games are depicted, is there? I am at a loss for about half of them. I did most certainly dig EVO, Triple Triad, and Bionic Commando; brilliant.

  2. Philip Armstrong

    Front: Final Fantasy VIII, Donkey Kong ’94, Alundra, Legend of Mana, Legend of Zelda: 4 Swords Adventures, Snatcher, Secret of Evermore, Final Fantasy V, Boktai, Deadly Premonition, Mega Man Legends, Wario Land II, Bionic Commando.

    Back: Legend of Zelda II, Out of this World, Unlimited Saga, Unjammer Lammy, Ogre Battle, Final Fantasy Tactics Advance, Paper Mario 2, Okami, Super Mario Bros. 2, Riviera, God Hand, and EVO.

    And thanks for the compliment!

Leave a Reply

